Saturday, October 24, 2009

World Series of Poker

The World Series of Poker (WSOP) is an annual poker tournament held in Las Vegas. In its first year which was 1970, the WSOP was an invitational where Benny Binion invited six of the best known poker players to The Horseshoe Casino. As the years have passed, the event has grown in terms of its prizes, events and participation as well. In its present format, the WSOP consists of 55 events which traditionally take place over one or more consecutive days during the series in June and July.
The winner of each event wins a World Series of Poker bracelet and a monetary prize based on the number of entrants and buy-in amounts. If one takes a look at the history of poker, the WSOP bracelet is the most coveted trophy a player could win and one from the main event is revered above all others. The series features all the variants of poker, but the one that is most played is Texas Hold’em.
The main event of the series is the $10,000 no-limit hold’em where the victor receives a multi-million dollar prize and the series ends. The winner of the World Series of Poker is considered to be the World Champion of Poker. Peter Eastgate is the youngest person to win the main event of the world series of poker.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Subscribe via email

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner